Player Profile - Sarah Thomas

DOB: 17/11/1992

Hometown: Cardiff

Current location: Cardiff

Discipline/s: Ladies and Mixed Doubles

Squad: Senior/ HPC SE

Sponsor: Yonex

Sporting History: All sports when I was young but concentrated on badminton when I got to high school

Biggest achievement: 8 times N ational Champion and going to Commonwealth games when I was 17

Other than the Welsh International, my favourite tournament is… Commonwealth games

Best tip for tournaments: Make sure you prepare right then anything can happen

Favourite workout song: Stronger- Kanye West

Favourite training session: Summer training

Least favourite training session: Technique training

Favourite piece of sporting kit: My yonex arc saber 11

Biggest fear: Drowning

My Idol/hero/role model is… Serena Williams

If I wasn’t a full time athlete I would be… in university

Favourite/best piece of advice you have been given: If you only give 90% in training then you will only give 90% when it matters

When I retire from being an athlete I will… be an accountant

Sporting ambition: Commonwealth medal and to go to the Olympics

Proudest moment of my life so far: Representing Wales at the Commonwealth Games

Food: guilty pleasure: Ice cream!!

Favourite training fuel: Bananas

Couldn’t live without: My family

When I stop competing I will… qualify as an accountant

Superstitions/routines: Always carry my lucky charm to tournaments

Apart from badminton, my favourite sport is… tennis

If I wasn’t a badminton player, I’d be … enjoying keeping fit and be in University

Random fact: Badminton runs in my family as my mum played for wales as a junior and my older sister has over 20 senior caps

Accept & Close

Cookies

This website uses 'cookies' to give you the best, most relevant experience. Using this website means you're happy with this. You can find out more about the cookies used by clicking this link.