Player Profile - Oliver Gwilt

DOB: 28.06.93

Hometown: Guilsfield

Current location: Shrewsbury

Discipline/s: Mens Doubles and Mixed Doubles

Squad: Senior Squad and HPC North

Sponsor: Yonex

Biggest achievement: Getting into the Top 100 in my 1st year as a senior and also a bronze medal in the Mixed at the Junior European Championships

Other than the Welsh International, my favourite tournament is… the Spanish Open (Challenger)

Best tip for tournaments: Eat and drink well especially in hot countries

Favourite workout song: Anything with a good beat

Favourite training session: Doubles sparring

Least favourite training session: Physical, obviously.

Favourite piece of sporting kit: My Yonex Vest Tops

Biggest fear: Heights

My Idol/hero/role model is… Ryan Giggs

If I wasn’t a full time athlete I would be… a plasterer, no doubt.

Favourite/best piece of advice you have been given: No one ever remembers a runner-up

When I retire from being an athlete I will… see what comes my way

Sporting ambition: To be the very best I can be

Proudest moment of my life so far: Receiving my 1st senior cap for Wales whilst being in my last year of Under 19's. Also being the only player in UK to come home with a bronze medal for mixed doubles at the U17 Junior European Championships.

Food: guilty pleasure: Nandos and an Indian

Favourite training fuel: Chicken, pasta, bananas and Red Bull

Couldn’t live without: My car

When I stop competing I will… cross that bridge when I come to it

Apart from badminton, my favourite sport is… Rugby

If I wasn’t a badminton player, I’d play… rugby or try out boxing

Random fact: I am OCD with cleaning especially cars!

Accept & Close

Cookies

This website uses 'cookies' to give you the best, most relevant experience. Using this website means you're happy with this. You can find out more about the cookies used by clicking this link.