Player Profile - Joe Morgan

DOB: 20 May 1979

Hometown: Llanelli

Current location: Cardiff

Discipline/s: Men’s Doubles

Squad: Senior/ HPC SE

Sponsor: Ashaway

Sporting History: Entered the Welsh squad age 23. 4 EBU titles, 3 national titles, 2 Commonwealth Games, World Ranking high 40.

Biggest achievement: Achieving the above considering I was 19 stone aged 22 but in particular qualifying for the 2006 Games demonstrated massive strides taken in my sporting career in a short space of time. Additionally though, returning this season from major injury / surgery and winning 3 EBU’s and another national title with a new partner is certainly up there.

Other than the Welsh International, my favourite tournament is… Commonwealth Games. A really special atmosphere and having been fortunate to qualify for two, I will be striving for a third over the next year.

Best tip for tournaments: If travelling away always try and train in the hall before the competition to get the travel out of your legs and get used to conditions.

Favourite training session: At the moment its when we have the opportunity to train against another doubles pair as this isn’t available on a daily basis.

Least favourite training session: Monday mornings.

Favourite piece of sporting kit: K tape / theraband – these things help my body through the training these days.

My Idol/hero/role model is… my dad.

When I retire from being an athlete I will… be easier to live with

Sporting ambition: Qualification for Commonwealth Games 2014 , winning more titles and top 50 world ranking.

Favourite training fuel: Pasta

When I stop competing I will… get married!

Apart from badminton, my favourite sport is… darts

Accept & Close

Cookies

This website uses 'cookies' to give you the best, most relevant experience. Using this website means you're happy with this. You can find out more about the cookies used by clicking this link.