2013 Wrexham Junior Shuttle

Posted by Rob Short at 01:03 on 5 March 2013

Events - 2013 Wrexham Junior Shuttle

The recent Wrexham Junior Shuttle event attracted players from North Wales counties and Cheshire, Lancashire and Shropshire.

In the U11 boys singles semis Shammanth Moodalbyle (Conwy) beat Ryan Evans (Cheshire) 21-12 and Michael Pritchard (CQ) beat Stephen Jong (Shropshire) in a cliff-hanger 22-20. Despite losing his group match to Moodalbyle, Pritchard won the exhausting 3 setter 15-11, 12-15, 15-9. In the doubles final Mold’s Tom Lancely partnered Moodalbyle to beat Cheshire’s Evans and Oliver Harrington 15-11, 15-4. Lili Thomas (Mold) won the girls singles, beating Cheshire’s Lauren Evans 12-15, 15-6, 15-13.

The U13 boys singles was dominated by Cheshire. Liam Shortall (Ch) beat Daniel Jennings (Ch) 21-8 and Alex Farrow (Shr) beat Thomas Foster (Ch) 21-15. Shortall won a 3 set thriller 15-9, 13-15, 15-11. In the boys doubles semis Farrow and Jong beat Liam Cooper (CQ) and Daniel Roberts (Mold) 21-13; Jennings and Ryan Williams (Ch) beat Shortall and Pritchard 21-12  and won the final 15-13, 15-12. In the girls singles semis Natasha Devbhandari (Ch) beat Helanya Birkett (Ch) 21-8; Daisy Senior (Ch) beat Katherine Jong (Shr) 21-13 and won the final 15-13, 15-7. Senior and Alicia Adams (Ch) were the doubles group winners with Devbhandari and Jong runners-up.

In the U15 boys singles semis Declan Bonar (Llanferres) beat Aidan Short (Shr) 21-16 and Owen Edwards (Ch) beat Shreyas Moodalbyle (Conwy) 21-14. Edwards played very consistently to win the final 15-10, 15-12. Moodalbyle and Patrick Gregson (Gwynedd) were doubles group winners, Bonar and Nick Prtak (Lanferres) were runners-up. The group winner of the girls doubles was  Natalie Roberts (Conwy), narrowly  beating runner-up Tionne Regan (Conwy) 24-22 in the crucial game. In the doubles final Reya Patil (CQ) and Zoe Edwards (Ch) played very steadily and served well to beat Roberts and Regan 15-11, 15-13.

For the full set of results please go to the Junior Shuttle Circuit page.